Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:20 p.m. - 2003-07-29
Ruuuuuuben
Dry, scratchy throat. Hoarse speech. Bags under the eyes.

No, I'm not sick. I am the victim of concert mania. Climbing on top of my chair, screaming to the top of my lungs "Ruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuben! Ahhhhhhhhh, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh."

Yes, I was the only thirty something without child in tow jumping up and down in her stadium seat screaming her head off when Ruben Studdard made an appearance. Of course, the screams for Ruben didn't by a long shot compare to the deafening shrill pitch of an entrance, or a toe twitch by Clay Aiken.

The girls went so crazy over that man that I felt truely sorry for my big, warm Velvet Teddy Bear. Of course, the low in the throat chant of Ruuuuuuuben doens't make as much noise as high-pitched teenaged female lungs. But still, the number of girls fainting in their seats didn't quite compare between the two talented men. You would have thought the Beatles had just invaded America each time Clay grabbed his shirt, or shook a little bootay.

Being ever the defender of the chubby girl, I have to admit, Kimberly Locke brought on nearly the level of fervor as her buddy Clay. The transformation in her stage presence, and her VOICE was truely amazing. I was left in a stupor of amazement each time she finished off a solo.

But, my Ruben has been wronged. He won the contest singing ballads, Billy Joel and Bee Gees. NOT SINGING BORING NO TONE R and B CRAP! I love R and B. I love rap. Good stuff that makes you want to get off your ass and shake it. NOT what poor Ruben was forced to sing. He begged the producers not to make him R and B. He's not a rapper. Just because he's a large black man doesn't mean he has to rap. But that's what they did. They even tried to make the man dance!

Ruben is all about being large and singing to the point your knees begin to melt. His voice is rich and deep and resonates through your gut. But the effect is lost when he is stuck with boring, uninspiring, wanna be rap songs that are going to be on this poor man's album. I almost cried for him.

I had a great time though. I saved my screams for Ruben in a show of support for a talented, yet wronged individual. The fact that he was the underdog of the show made me scream all the harder.

Way to go Roob! Keep singing. Don't let those no talent, small brained producers push you into a corner of the market where you don't belong. After all, you're bigger than they are!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!