Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:49 p.m. - 2005-04-26
Yogurt and cooking for friends.
Entry Number Two: I made some kick-ass pasta for the pot luck today. Its a spin on Mole sauce with pasta and Italian cheeses. Its getting rave reviews and is almost gone. Makes a cheflet proud.

It was the first meal made in my kitchen. The next is cream of broccoli soup and cheezy chicken pasta (I don't usually do the creamy stuff, but the friend I'm cooking for only eats rich food). On the side I'll serve broccoli and carrots steamed with butter and honey.

What she doesn't know is that I can make a mean cream soup and cheese sauce virtually fat free. When she eats a whole ton and raves about it, I'll hand over the recipes. She has about 100 lbs to lose and can't stay away from the rich, fatty foods. I'll consider it my civic duty.

Then, I'll treat her to coffee and biscotti downstairs just to be sweet.

I think having people over for a meal is one of the best ways to warm up a new home. Plus, it gives me an opportunity to show off my chef-wanna-be talents. I don't claim to be the gastronomic genious Sixweasel's husband is (only he can get me to eat a mushroom - but only in his lasagna), but I do enjoy the process of making a meal.

(Yes, Mr. Weasel - I will bring you P.I.E. sometime soon...)

I have to admit, I do bake, but I'm not really a sweets person. So baking doesn't happen very often. Now ice cream, on the other hand, I can put a dent in. Did you know if you freeze the Go-gurts they taste like frozen yogurt? Pretty cool, huh? If its yogurt, I'm there. In fact, I don't think there's enough food with yogurt. Particularly the low carb ones (except for the Atkins ones, they are crap.)

Anyway, enough about cultured dairy products...


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!