Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:07 a.m. - 2006-03-09
A spew of anger and bitterness.
I don't understand why women my age, including myself, are suddenly getting ill with the same diseases our mothers never got till they got to 60 or older.

I'm a 35 year old woman, cute, friendly, spunky - yet, I have hypertension, high cholesterol and arthritis head to toe. Typically senior citizen type diseases.

Now I've found out that not only does Sully's sister have breast cancer, but our friend M is dying from it.

Both these women are my age. Breast cancer is still something that you don't typically get checked for until you turn 40. Again, something that would normally affect our mother's at 60+.

I don't understand why diseases are hitting earlier and earlier, even for women in good health, good weight, happy, etc. It seems that there is nothing you can do to prevent it. Fat, thin, healthy, slovenly, good diet, bad diet, mother, not a mother. Doesn't matter.

I have more arthritis in my joints than my mother who I get it from. I have the heart of a 60 year old man according to the meds I take. Isn't that the usual age/sex for a heart attack?

What's making us contract diseases and disorders so much earlier than our parents? Hell, some of us beat our parents to the punch.

Its not fair, its not right and it makes me sick to my stomach to think about young mothers being forced to leave their children behind because of something that should not have happened for 20-30 years. It used to be rare for anyone to get cancer before 50. Now it seems the norm.

I'm going on and on because I simply don't know what else to do. Its too close to home. I've experienced my losses. I have suffered my discomforts. I'm done.

Finished. No more.

Most people would tell me to pray. Say something about God's will, or Heaven being a better place. But, aren't we supposed to be rewarded for doing the right thing?

Its a lie. What is Heaven is a lie too? We go through life with this big promise of an ultimate reward for believing in God, and Jesus and the holy spirit if your into that. But what if its all make believe, like our earthly rewards are?

Work hard, get rewarded? No.

Eat well, exercise, take supplements, decrease risk of cancer/heart disease? Nope.

Believe, pray, go to church every Sunday, get into Heaven and enjoy eternal happiness? Odds are against it.

Its all bullshit.

Eat, drink, smoke and lay on the goddamn couch all day. Your chances of dying are just as good as the next athelete in training.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!