Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:24 a.m. - 2006-03-13
Better???
I have to admit I'm feeling a little bt better today. I've gone from having a fever and feeling like death to feeling like a person with an everyday cold.

That's a big improvement. Even the ears have begun to drain.

I have to wonder at the timing. People get sick everyday. But I have a tendency to get sick around important events that I look forward to.

My brother's wedding, New Years Eve, Christmas, vacations, MAXIMANIA.

I've come to think that there is a psychological component to it. Obviously, we get sick when we get infected by a virus/bug/allergies. But, there is something to the timing that makes me thing that my immune system plummets when I'm excited about an event. Its sort of a self-defeating behavior.

Or, I remember my yoga teacher telling me once that a cold is the body's way of telling you to slow down and work through a problem. It means that there is something you have to address that you've been avoiding.

Both make sense to me. I've known about this tendency for a while. But, as much work as I've done, I can't seem to find the remede. I meant to meditate on it, but I've been resisting that.

In any case, it sucks. But I'll keep working on it.

I will be in Miami and I will have so much fun I can't function for weeks. Sneezing or no sneezing. Maxwell will just have to deal. I think he'll find it in his heart to do so.

I'm accepting cyber hugs. I promise to wear an anti-germ mask.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!