Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 a.m. - 2006-03-29
A new career path.
I'm thinking about going back to school. Actually, I've been thinking about it for years.

Since college, and a very fulfilling summer job as Physical Therapy aide in a head injury/amputation rehab center, I've been driven toward a career in PT.

The unfortunate thing is that the GPA you need to have to even get into the schools is 4.0 plus...

But, that's OK, because another field I'm very interested in is nursing. No cutting up dead bodies, minimal poop clean-up if I stay away from hospitals and nursing homes. And its pays really well. AND its something I can do anywhere that's in demand. I can even so some charity work that will satisfy my need to so something along the lines of Project Hope or Peace Corps. With my project management and tech background to boot, I'm sure to be marketable.

This is a huge committment. But I think its the way I want to go. So, research is commencing.

I feel really good about this. I just need to figure out the $$$ aspect. Its possible that there are scholarships. I just need to find them.

There is also the bonus of incorporating the alternative healing arts into my work.

In other news, the birthday festivities rocked. There was chicken for dinner (my all time favorite), and vanilla cake, and my nephew learning some new tricks. He got me a gift certificate to a local bookstore. I think I'll use it to get a book on nursing. Something to get me started.

Nurse Zen. Kinda cool.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!