Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2006-07-16
Goodbyes and broken ear drums.
I miss my cousins. The 10 year old cried as I left mom's house last night. She had gotten so attached to me, the dog and my nephew. It was cool to see the nephew warm up to her so quickly. It was devotion at first sight. He followed her around like a puppy.

By the end of the week, I really felt like I belonged with them, and them with me. My true blood family. My grandparents' blood, my father's blood. My history and my future. I love those girls so much. I wanted to keep them here forever. I'm making a vow to myself to visit them, or have them here once a year. One week of my vacation each year will be devoted to growing my bond with my dad's side of family. Its worth so much to me.

It'll just have to be a winter month, because summer in Alabama is way too freakin' hot for me. It was OK when I was a kid, running around, riding bikes, going swimming at the lake. But I'm older now and 100 degree weather is the devil.

I soothed myself by going out with my bookstore friend to see a band that he has close ties to. They blew me away. I mean seriously, they sound so professional and recordable that I know for certain that I will have to pay 100 bucks to see them one day. The original stuff was incredible. Being in the presence of such talent, vocals, guitar, bass and drums was humbling. I'd better become a groupie now so I have my chance before L.A. discovers them and takes them away from me.

Six, if you come to visit next month with Dee, I'll see where they're playing and we'll have some real entertainment.

I'm off to bed now. Nite, nite.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!