Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:20 p.m. - 2006-09-11
Standing on a soapbox, with a box of soap in my hands.
I have been cleaning and throwing stuff away and organizing like a mad woman the last few days.

I already wrote and deleted my 9/11 entry. It affected me in a very personal way, as it did everyone, and I feel both guilty for it and not. Horrible things happen to people every day and we stand by and say and do nothing. Yet we glorify one day in history.

I think its because of the added horror of the people choosing how they would die. The weren't just bombed or shot. They had to make the most horrifying choice one ever has to make. At least to me. I guess that's why 9/11 is more important than any gang violence, organized crime spree, serial killer or bigoted hate crime.

You see. Its not just THEM that do unspeakable things to Americans. We can do it well enough ourselves.

And what about the hundreds of people who die daily on the continent of Africa, the middle east, Europe, and all over the earth because of ethnic cleansing? You think it doesn't happen anymore? What about the thousands who die daily of starvation and watch their children die one by one? That's horror too.

I don't mean to take away from the atrocities that befell the victims of the 9/11 terrorist attack. I thought I had lost my godfather for three days. I still feel like puking when I think of it because the thoughts overwhelm me. I'm still angry to my bones.

But please. As you think of the victims and families of 9/11, think of the victims indifference and their families too.

We have a lot of work to do. Let's get to it.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!