Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2009-02-19
Bad, bad, bad, bad day.
So, my step-aunt died, there was a huge lay-off at work, and pretty much everyone sucked ass this week.

Jeez.

So now I have to deal with weepy people at work and outside of work. I really don't give a shit about my step-aunt. She was nice toward the end, but when I was a kid, she was a bitch from hell. So I'm neither sad, nor unsad. But I do have a funeral to attend Saturday afternoon, right before the awesome Young Dubs concert. Which sucks, because the mood will be all wrong. But I'm sure a nice vodka drink will dispell any lingering moroseness.

Ugggh. And the layoff at work... We've known it was coming for a week, but it still shocks people. The people who leave and the people who stay behind. I got calls and calls all day long, and I had to do all of my employee reviews today, and I was on meeting after meeting to strategize about what to do about project team members who are now gone. Luckily, my team members are still here, but some of the key people on their projects are gone now.

Not to mention that I really liked and respected some of those folks.

It's never easy.

My reviews went really well. Only one smackdown, and she took it really well for a change.

So, I'm pretty much ready for a break. A nice long one. With a job at the end, of course.

I had been looking at houses before the layoff. Now, I'm back to wondering what to do. But I definately need to move somewhere this year. I've outgrown the smallness and limitations of my apartment. It's been good to me, but its time.

I wish I had a trusted financial advisor to help me make these decisions. I just don't know what to do... So for now, I will do nothing.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!