Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 p.m. - 2009-10-08
The next step.
So, I went to Diabetes Orientation today, got my meter (not as scary as I thought), and got a lot for questions answered.

I have Type 2 diabetes. Just over the line from a normal Hemoglobin range, and my sugars when I had them tested two weeks ago sucked ass, but were really not too bad as things go either.

Since radically altering my diet with a whole foods approach (whole grains, veggies, lean protein, nuts) my sugars look awesome. I'm going to start incorporating some fruits now that I know I can have them without killing myself to make my diet look a little more normal. I would have been sad if I couldn't have apples in the fall.

But, seriously, I think the other most effective thing was decreasing the amounts of food I was putting into my body on a daily basis.

My brain is on overload, and I'm still scared shitless, but I'm taking the holistic/natruopathic view and thinking if I can keep the ole sugars in control with food, I have effectively beaten the disease.

I know its degenerative, and someday might kick me in the ass no matter what I do, but I'm trying to feel confident that it will be a long time from now.

I'm reading tons of stuff by holistic/new age Diabetes experts and putting my plan together.

Thank god I've never been more than an occasional "monthly" sweet eater. I won't miss sugar at all.

My treats will be white flour dumplings and pasta, and french rolls with butter at really fine restaurants, and chicken pot pie.

I'm also looking into experimenting with alternative flours to create bread like substances...

Wish me luck everyone. Its going to be a hell of a journey.


10:00 p.m. - 2009-10-08
The next step.
So, I went to Diabetes Orientation today, got my meter (not as scary as I thought), and got a lot for questions answered.

I have Type 2 diabetes. Just over the line from a normal Hemoglobin range, and my sugars when I had them tested two weeks ago sucked ass, but were really not too bad as things go either.

Since radically altering my diet with a whole foods approach (whole grains, veggies, lean protein, nuts) my sugars look awesome. I'm going to start incorporating some fruits now that I know I can have them without killing myself to make my diet look a little more normal. I would have been sad if I couldn't have apples in the fall.

But, seriously, I think the other most effective thing was decreasing the amounts of food I was putting into my body on a daily basis.

My brain is on overload, and I'm still scared shitless, but I'm taking the holistic/natruopathic view and thinking if I can keep the ole sugars in control with food, I have effectively beaten the disease.

I know its degenerative, and someday might kick me in the ass no matter what I do, but I'm trying to feel confident that it will be a long time from now.

I'm reading tons of stuff by holistic/new age Diabetes experts and putting my plan together.

Thank god I've never been more than an occasional "monthly" sweet eater. I won't miss sugar at all.

My treats will be white flour dumplings and pasta, and french rolls with butter at really fine restaurants, and chicken pot pie.

I'm also looking into experimenting with alternative flours to create bread like substances...

Wish me luck everyone. Its going to be a hell of a journey.


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!