Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:58 p.m. - 2003-05-27
A whisper of talent
I had a notion this morning to call in sick and sleep in forever and a day. I had watched The Horse Whisperer the night before, and it spurred some rare crystal clear dreams with complete storylines and rich charactors. That happens about once or twice a year, and I thoroughly enjoy the experience. My sleeping mind is full of stories and novels yet to be written, which in the awake state I can't quite string together into something complete and good. But when I sleep, the stories are woven with a master's talent for detail and imagery.

I can't help but feel that there is a writer, a sculpter, an artist buried in this corporate woman's psyche. I have drawn, I have written, but nothing like what I can do in my dream world. I have solved the most complex algebraic problems in my sleep but have been unable to remember the solution in the morning. I failed math 5 times before bribing my last professor with M&Ms and beer to help me graduate college. I got an A.

Somewhere between the sleeping and waking mind, there is a bridge that I have not found. To be that open and free of the constraints of doubt. That would be a gift.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!