Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:21 p.m. - 2004-06-02
How lucky I am.
My co-worker just came back from leave after gastric bypass surgery. She had 6 weeks of counseling and two weeks of dieting before the surgery.

She had no idea what she was getting into. She wasn't prepared for the pain, the miniscule portions of food, the having to wait 1/2 hour after eating a half cup of food to drink 1/2 cup of water. She wasn't ready to be faced with leftover pastries, scones, wraps and chips right under her nose. She wasn't prepared to be dependant on a monthly B-12 shot at the doctor's office for the rest of her life. Or the 9 pills a day required because she can't eat enough to keep her body alive.

Its a crime. She wasn't ready. She didn't have to do it. She moved well and is remarkably solid for a large woman. If only her doctor had suggested Weight Watchers, Optifast or psychiatry. If she had anorexia or bulemia, she would have been admitted to a hospital or program to help her deal with the psychological problems causing her to harm her body. But overweight is considered a self-control problem, not a psychological one.

I want to beat the doctor who did this to her. She's been crying on and off all day.

I'll be thanking my lucky stars from now on. I'll try never to complain about my belly or butt ever again. Or abou the no fat/no salt diet. I'm a lucky, lucky girl.

P.S. Still grinning like an idiot about make-up sex.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!